Rep. Kim Tae-nyeon of the Democratic Party of Korea speaks during a plenary session at the National Assembly in Seoul, in this Sept. 21, 2022 file photo. Korea Times file

Rep. Kim Tae-nyeon, a five-term lawmaker of the main opposition Democratic Party of Korea (DPK), was elected as the president of the South Korea-China Parliamentarians’ Union.

The South Korea-China Parliamentarians’ Union, made up of 102 lawmakers, was established in 2022 to commemorate the 30th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic ties. The first serving president was Hong Young-pyo, a former lawmaker of the DPK.

Kim vowed to boost exchanges and communication between the two countries’ lawmakers, given the important role the parliamentarians’ union plays in shaping public opinion regarding South Korea-China relations.

“China is South Korea’s largest trading partner. Economic cooperation between the two countries must expand further from the traditional industries. 커뮤니티 Also, security cooperation needs to be strengthened to match the level of economic cooperation,” Kim said after being elected, Tuesday.

He added: “I will also strive to boost the level of parliamentary diplomacy by discussing a common agenda with our counterpart, the National People’s Congress of China, as well as promoting exchanges with the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference.”

Chinese Ambassador to South Korea Xing Haiming, who is leaving his post and returning to China this week, attended the event and requested that the union foster stronger relationships between the two countries.

“I hope we continue to carry forward the spirit of the five principles of peaceful coexistence and stay committed to mutual respect,” Xing said. “I look forward to the South Korea-China Parliamentarians’ Union actively making suggestions and playing a big role in the development of China-South Korea relations,” Xing said.

The five principles of peaceful coexistence are mutual respect for sovereignty and territorial integrity, mutual non-aggression, non-interference in each other’s internal affairs, equality and mutual benefit, and peaceful coexistence.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *